- When a vehicle is sold, whether to a dealer or to a private individual, the license plate from the vehicle that is sold is transferable to another vehicle owned by the seller.
- The license plate stays with the seller who should notify the Department of Revenue if it is being transferred or cancel registration since insurance will be terminated on the sold vehicle.
- The new owner has 30 days from the date of purchase or acquisition of the vehicle to register and obtain a Georgia license plate, or to transfer an existing valid Georgia license plate to the vehicle.
- Vehicles should be registered at the tax commissioner’s office in the Georgia county where the owner lives.
- While the new registration is being processed, owners should keep a copy of the front and back of the vehicle’s title or a copy of the bill of sale to prove ownership until they receive the new title and license plate.
- During this period, the vehicles purchased from another individual should have nothing on the rear bumper where a license plate normally would be affixed.
- Handmade signs saying “Tag Applied For” have no validity and are in reality a “red flag” for law enforcement. Failure to register a vehicle within 30 days of purchase or acquisition could result in fines of as much as $100 if stopped by law enforcement.
- You'll need proof of insurance when you register the vehicle. Our agency can provide "Instant Proof of Insurance" for you. Contact out office and see just how affordable it is to get peace of mind.
Various articles on protecting yourself & your family